TONSPUR for a public space
Sound works at MQ in Vienna
A project by Georg Weckwerth and Peter Szely


TONSPUR 56
Georg Klein [D]*
The Yellow SoundTS, 2012
Homage to Kandinsky
Sound-Light-Text Installation
Adaption of the installation „Der gelbe Klang2“ [ZKM Karlsruhe] for the
TONSPUR_passage at MuseumsQuartier Wien
8-channel audio, inked wall/yellow light, 7-part series of posters
Text: Wassily Kandinsky
Voice [russian/german]: Sergej Newski
Length 10.15 min
*41. TONSPUR-Artist-in-Residence at quartier21/MQ



26.11.12–23.02.13
MuseumsQuartier Wien
TONSPUR_passage [between MQ court 7 and 8]
Daily 10am to 8pm
Opening: Su 25.11.12, 5pm
Opening words:
Georg Weckwerth [artistic director TONSPUR]


TONSPUR IN BERLIN
TONSPUR_TRIBUTE TO JOHN CAGE






THE YELLOW SOUNDTS. HOMAGE TO KANDINSKY
100 year ago Wassily Kandinsky [1866–1944] published a text in “The Blue Rider” Almanac that could be considered to be the founding manifesto for sound art, or at least as its precursor. His text, “A Stage Composition”, served as the preamble for a planned theatre piece titled “The Yellow Sound”, and called for no less than a new interconnection between the arts, an “inner” link between “sound, colour, word!” and movement. Alone the fact that Kandinsky replaces music, painting, theatre and ballet with abstract notions of materiality is well ahead of its time, and sound art features in it as a new intermedial art form. His Yellow Sound was, however, never produced during his lifetime.

Georg Klein, who is best known for his politically provocative sound art works in public space, alludes with this work to the historical origins of this artistic discipline and transfers Kandinsky’s ideas into a contemporary form of sound art. The point of departure is an abstract “yellow noise” created parallel to the ‘white’ and ‘pink’ noises familiar from acoustics that slowly shifts to form ‘triangles’ of concrete sound. The triangle, which Kandinsky associated very strongly with the colour yellow, also appears as a spatial acoustic constellation within which a central sentence from Kandinsky’s text crystallises as sounds in Russian and German spoken by the composer Sergej Newski.
The transition from the concrete to abstraction, as observed in Kandinsky’s work around 1910, becomes a musical theme here both in the sounds as well as in the spoken text, which is supplemented by a 7-part series of yellow posters where four consecutive lines of Kandinsky's text are to be read. The yellow of the space was taken from Kandinsky’s painting “Improvisation 10”, and so “sound, colour, word” conjoin site-specifically and can be experienced by passers-by in the movement within it.


BIOGRAPHY
Georg Klein, born in Öhringen, Germany in 1964, lives and works in Berlin.
georgklein.de




TONSPUR 56
Text follows...
Georg Weckwerth, November 2012

PASSAGE GALLERY
Designed by Georg Klein –

TONSPUR für einen öffentlichen raum
Klangarbeiten im MuseumsQuartier Wien
Ein Projekt von Georg Weckwerth und Peter Szely


TONSPUR 56
Georg Klein [D]*
Der gelbe KlangTS, 2012
Hommage an Kandinsky
Klang-Licht-Text-Installation
Adaption der Installation „Der gelbe Klang2“ [ZKM Karlsruhe] für die
TONSPUR_passage im MuseumsQuartier Wien
8-Kanal-Audio, Farbwand/Gelbes Licht, 7-teilige Posterreihe
Text: Wassily Kandinsky
Stimme [russisch/deutsch]: Sergej Newski
Länge 10.15 min
*41. TONSPUR-Artist-in-Residence im quartier21/MQ



26.11.12–23.02.13
MuseumsQuartier Wien
TONSPUR_passage [zwischen MQ Hof 7 und 8]
Täglich 10–20h
Eröffnung: So 25.11.12, 17h
Einleitende Worte:
Georg Weckwerth [Künstlerischer Leiter TONSPUR]


TONSPUR IN BERLIN
TONSPUR_TRIBUTE TO JOHN CAGE





DER GELBE KLANGTS. HOMMAGE AN KANDINSKY
Vor 100 Jahren veröffentlichte Wassily Kandinsky [1866–1944] im Almanach „Der blaue Reiter“ einen Text, der als ein Gründungsmanifest der Klangkunst gelten kann, zumindest als deren Vorahnung. Sein Text „Über Bühnenkomposition“ dient als Vorrede zu einem geplanten Stück mit dem Titel „Der gelbe Klang“, und fordert nicht weniger als eine neue Verbindung der Künste, eine „innere“ Verbindung von „Klang, Farbe, Wort!...“ und Bewegung. Allein die Tatsache, dass Kandinsky Musik, Malerei, Theater und Ballett durch abstrakte Materialbegriffe ersetzt, weist weit in die Zukunft, und es scheint darin die Klangkunst als eine neue, intermediale Kunstform auf. Sein „Gelber Klang“ wurde zu seinen Lebzeiten jedoch nie realisiert.

Georg Klein, der vor allem für seine politisch provokanten KlangKunst-Arbeiten im öffentlichen Raum bekannt ist, verweist mit dieser Arbeit auf die historischen Ursprünge dieser Kunstgattung, und überführt Kandinskys Ideen in eine aktuelle, klangkünstlerische Form. Ausgangspunkt ist ein abstraktes „gelbes Rauschen“, das analog zu dem aus der Akustik bekannten „weißen“ und „rosa Rauschen“ kreiert wurde und langsam zu „Dreiecken“ geformt in konkrete Klanggestalten übergeht. Die Dreiecksform, die Kandinsky sehr stark mit der Farbe Gelb assoziiert hat, tritt auch als raumakustische Konstellation auf, innerhalb derer sich dann ein zentraler Satz aus Kandinskys Text herausschält, als Klanglaute in russisch und deutsch, gesprochen von dem Komponisten Sergej Newski.
Der Übergang von der Konkretion zur Abstraktion, wie sie bei Kandinsky um 1910 zu beobachten ist, wird hier zum musikalischen Thema, sowohl in den Klängen wie auch in dem gesprochenen Text, der durch eine 7-teilige, gelbe Posterreihe ergänzt wird, auf der 4 durchlaufende Zeilen aus Kandinskys Text zu lesen sind. Das Gelb des Raumes wurde Kandinskys Bild „Improvisation 10“ entnommen, und so schließen sich „Klang, Farbe, Wort“ raumbezogen zusammen und können in der Bewegung darin von den PassantInnen erfahren werden.


BIOGRAPHIE
Georg Klein, geboren 1964 in Öhringen, Deutschland, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.
georgklein.de









Bundeskanzleramt Kunst


TONSPUR 56
Text folgt...
Georg Weckwerth, November 2012

PASSAGENGALERIE
Gestaltet von Georg Klein –