TONSPUR for a public space
Sound works at quartier21/MQ in Vienna
A project by Georg Weckwerth and Peter Szely

A programme of sound works and live-performances by
international artists in the Vienna MuseumsQuartier. These artists'
multi-channelled compositions go well beyond the standard
stereophonic experience, creating captivating acoustic
architectures and sound spaces.


TONSPUR 34
JOHN OSWALD [CDN]*
Eislaufen, 2010**
8-channel composition
Length 14 min.
*23rd TONSPUR-Artist-in-Residence at quartier21/MQ
**supported by ORF Kunstradio



22.02.10–15.05.10
MuseumsQuartier Wien
TONSPUR_passage [between MQ court 7 and 8]
Daily 10am to 8pm
Opening: Su 21.02.10, 5pm
Opening words:
Georg Weckwerth [artistic director TONSPUR]
Susanna Niedermayr [ORF Ö1 Zeit-Ton / musikprotokoll]


TONSPUR IN BERLIN






EISLAUFEN
TONSPUR is a popular pedestrian passageway. And most people traverse the space without any specific desire to hear more sound. But my TONSPUR environment whispers and calls out to these pedestrians, in many voices, in many languages: with both salutations and farewells.
And to this I've added, as an occasional musical interlude, the most famous and recognizable of Viennese tunes; although the melody is so slow as to be unrecognizable by most fast-walking urban passers-through.
A more up-tempo version of this music is also played, or so I've heard, here in Vienna to say goodbye to an old year and hello to a new one.
When i hear it i think of skating, whence the title Eislaufen.

John Oswald, February 2010

BIOGRAPHY
John Oswald, born in Kitchener, Ontario, Canada in 1953, lives and works in Toronto, Canada.
pfony.com






TONSPUR 34
2010: Austro-Pop rock queen Christina Stürmer remixes the Austrian national anthem, and a copyright dispute erupts! 1988: John Oswald's “plunderphonics EP” was released, and hailed as the most radical sampling album of its time. In the following year Oswald sampled, among other tracks, Michael Jackson's “Bad” on the underground cult classic “plunderphonic CD” — on the cover he even showed the 'King of Pop' as female and nude in the process of transforming from black to white. In 1992 the legendary band Grateful Dead actually invited him to 'plunderphonicize' them. “Grayfolded” ensued [1994], and became Record of the Year in Canada.
John Oswald, alias Mr. Plunderphonics [in the German-speaking countries: Herr Plundermeister], is one of the most dazzling individuals on the international music scene. The intellectually loaded term 'Plunderphonics' ["or, Audio Piracy as a Compositional Prerogative"], coined by him in 1985, is a key milestone in understanding contemporary production of music or sound art. Oswald's impact ranges today from popular music via sound art to serious music; he is also a gifted saxophonist and dancer. For the Canadian media he is "probably Canada's most important composer-musician". Furthermore, though, John Oswald is an exceptional new media artist and image-alchemist — for which he was granted the highest honour that can be bestowed upon a Canadian artist in 2004, the Governor General's Award for Media Arts.
We are very fortunate to have John Oswald as artist-in-residence here in Vienna. 10 years after the major Vienna Festival installation “Stress” [by Bruce Mau/John Oswald], commissioned by and showed at the MAK, a new piece for Vienna now follows. Behind the simple title “Eislaufen” [Ice Skating] of TONSPUR 34 für einen öffentlichen raum is concealed a sound work, a sound-collage [accompanied by a two-dimensional collage of people from his “Census” project], which can be ascribed a combination of such diverse attributes as enigmatic, playful, communicative, musical and site-specific. Sampling must also be included: Op.314 summons to the dance floor. Let the waltzing begin! Hopefully J.B. Strauss' heirs will be more lenient than the late-Jacko's lawyers or, just recently, the copyright-sentinels overseeing Austria's 'official' anthem.

Georg Weckwerth, February 2010

PASSAGE GALLERY
Designed by John Oswald –

TONSPUR für einen öffentlichen raum
Klangarbeiten im quartier21/MQ in Wien
Ein Projekt von Georg Weckwerth und Peter Szely

Wechselnde Klangarbeiten und Live-Performances internationaler
KünstlerInnen im öffentlichen Raum des MuseumsQuartier Wien.
Ihre mehrkanaligen, das übliche Stereobild aufhebenden Kompositionen
erschaffen faszinierende Klangarchitekturen und begehbare Tonräume.


TONSPUR 34
John Oswald [CDN]*
Eislaufen, 2010**
8-Kanal-Komposition
Länge 14 min.
*23. TONSPUR-Artist-in-Residence im quartier21/MQ
**unterstützt von ORF Kunstradio



22.02.10–15.05.10
MuseumsQuartier Wien
TONSPUR_passage [zwischen MQ Hof 7 und 8]
Täglich 10–20h
Eröffnung: So 21.02.10, 17h
Einleitende Worte:
Georg Weckwerth [Künstlerischer Leiter TONSPUR]
Susanna Niedermayr [ORF Ö1 Zeit-Ton / musikprotokoll]


TONSPUR IN BERLIN






EISLAUFEN
Die TONSPUR ist ein stark frequentierter Fußgängerdurchgang. Die meisten Leute durchqueren den Raum ohne ein besonderes Verlangen nach zusätzlichem Sound. Zu diesen Passanten flüstert und ruft mein TONSPUR-Environment in vielen Stimmen und Sprachen: Begrüßungen und Verabschiedungen sind zu hören.
Dazu habe ich als gelegentliches musikalisches Zwischenspiel die berühmteste aller Wiener Melodien hinzugefügt; allerdings ist die Melodie so langsam, dass sie für die meisten schnell gehenden städtischen Passanten kaum zu erkennen ist.
Eine schnellere Version dieser Musik wird, wie ich gehört habe, hier in Wien auch zur Verabschiedung des alten und Begrüßung des neuen Jahres gespielt.
Wenn ich sie höre, denke ich an Eislaufen – daher der Titel.

John Oswald, Februar 2010

BIOGRAPHIE
John Oswald, geboren 1953 in Kitchener, Ontario, Kanada, lebt und arbeitet in Toronto, Kanada.
pfony.com






TONSPUR 34
2010: Austro-Pop-Rock-Queen Christina Stürmer remixt die österreichische Bundeshymne und es entbrennt ein Urheberrechtsstreit! 1988: John Oswald' „plunderphonics EP“ erscheint und avanciert zum 'extremsten Sampling-Album' seiner Zeit. Im Jahr darauf sampelt Oswald u. a. Michael Jackson' „Bad“ auf dem Underground-Kultklassiker „plunderphonic CD“ – auf das Cover plaziert er dazu den 'King of Pop' als weiblichen, sich von schwarz hin nach weiß transformierenden Akt – und macht Bekanntschaft mit Jacksons Rechtsvertretern. 1992 wiederum laden ihn die legendären Grateful Dead ein 'to plunderphonicize them'. „Grayfolded“ [1994] ist das Resultat und wird 'record of the year' in Kanada.
John Oswald oder Mr. Plunderphonics oder hierzulande Herr Plundermeister ist eine der schillernsten Figuren der internationalen Musikszene. Der von ihm bereits 1985 geprägte, intellektuell unterfütterte Terminus 'Plunderphonics' ['or, Audio Piracy as a Compositional Prerogative'] ist bedeutende Wegmarke für das Verständnis zeitgenössischer musikalischer und klangkünstlerischer Produktion. Oswalds Einfluß reicht heute von der Popularmusik über Sound art bis hin zur E-Musik; dazu ist er ein begnadeter Saxophonspieler und Tänzer. Für die kanadische Presse ist er 'probably Canada's most important composer-musician'. Doch John Oswald [*1953, Kitchener, Ontario] ist darüber hinaus auch ein herausragender Medienkünstler und 'Bild-Alchimist'. Dafür wurde er 2004 mit der höchsten Ehrung für einen kanadischen Künstler ausgezeichnet, dem 'Governor General's Award for Media Arts'.
John Oswald als Artist-in-Residence hier in Wien zu haben ist ein Glücksfall. 10 Jahre nach der großen Festwochen-Installation „Stress“ [Bruce Mau/John Oswald], beauftragt vom und aufgeführt im MAK, nun also ein neues Stück für Wien. Hinter dem schlichten Titel „Eislaufen“, der TONSPUR 34 für einen öffentlichen raum, verbirgt sich eine Klangarbeit oder passender eine 'Klangcollage' [begleitet von einer Bildcollage mit Personen aus Oswalds 'Census'-Projekt], die so unterschiedliche Attribute wie geheimnisvoll, spielerisch, kommunikativ, musikalisch, auf-den-Ort-bezogen in sich vereint. Ein Sampling darf darin nicht fehlen, Op.314 bittet zum Tanz. Alles Walzer! J. B. Strauss' Erben werden hoffentlich gnädiger sein als weiland Jackos Anwälte oder dieser Tage die ©Wächter über die 'offizielle' Hymne Österreichs.

Georg Weckwerth, Februar 2010

PASSAGENGALERIE
Gestaltet von John Oswald –